conversations with my coworkers – part 4

by ada

Three weeks ago:

coworker1 (calling me exactly 20 minutes before the beginning of her day shift): I’m sorry but I can’t work today, I feel so sick, I’m staying at home today.

me: Oh, you poor one! It’s okay, don’t worry, we will find somebody instead of you, just take care of yourself and get better!

Two weeks ago:

coworker2 (addresses me in the middle of his day shift): I’m going home now, I feel sick, I can’t work anymore today.

me: Oh, you poor one! It’s okay, don’t worry, we will find somebody instead of you, just take care of yourself and get better!

Yesterday:

me (calling the nurse on duty on the previous day of my day shift, giving exactly thirteen hours for her to find somebody to work instead of me): I’m sorry I’m sick so I can’t come tomorrow.

coworker3: Oh no! How will I find somebody else? Why do you call me so late? Why didn’t you told me that already yesterday?

me: Well, yesterday I still felt fine.

coworker3: Can’t you really come tomorrow?

me: I’m sorry but I’m throwing up all the time, I don’t think I’ll manage to work thirteen hours in this condition…

coworker3: How long will you be sick?

me: I really don’t know, sorry…

coworker3: But you sure come on Wednesday?

me: I don’t know…

coworker3: On Thursday? On Friday?

me: I will try to do my best not to throw up on Friday…

coworker3 (in a plaintive manner): What shall I do now? How shall I find someone instead of you? How long will you be sick? Why didn’t you call me earlier?

me (already pretty nervous and wondering about this interesting phenomenon of the complete lack of empathy in health care professionals): I’m soooo sorry for not getting sick one day earlier!

Leave a Reply

