I’m as dark as December

by ada

Two books for December – because everybody has their own coping mechanisms for times when life goes crazy or starts to get unenjoyable, and mine is reading Agatha Christie; and because nothing did I miss more in my life right now than a giant, dead squid of a god, that is in charge of all different kinds of apocalypses.

And for the year 2013 – I read 34+ books (I didn’t document January and honestly, I don’t remember anything about January anymore, let alone what I read, haha) and some of the adventures of Nancy Drew in digital form. And of course, I also acquired tons of information from heavy books written mostly in the sophisticated style of medical Latin, information like what to do if your patient’s artificial respirator starts giving out loud, high-pitched beeps or if his ECG suddenly start to look like a long, straight line. These, in their own genre, are definitely fascinating subjects, but they still can’t make the truth, that I became one of those people who don’t read, nicer. Let’s face it and hope for the best (or at least, for the better) in 2014.

Also, I really don’t understand what had happened to the Hungarian language lately and who are those terribly incapable people who are doing all the translation jobs but this situation became unbearable to me. I just can’t anymore. So I refuse to read anything that was translated to Hungarian in the last 30 years. 2014 will be the year of original literature and vintage translations.

December readings

Leave a Reply

