the year is going, let him go

by ada

2013 wasn’t exactly a bad year for me but it wasn’t a good one either. It was like just milling around, one step forward two steps back while nothing really makes sense and nothing ever happens. I’m quite relieved that this year is finally over. Yay 2014!

In contrast to last year this time I have numerous New Year’s Resolutions. Most of them are private, that I won’t discuss here. My resolutions regarding this blog are to

  1. be more personal. At some point along my way through 2013 this blog stopped being my personal diary and became a travel blog or rather a backup place where I uploaded some of the halfway acceptable photos I took of buildings. Which is fine too, I guess, but becoming so neutral was never my intention.
  2. post less and select and sort out my photos more strictly. Sometimes I really envy those beautiful, artistic photo blogs with simple designs and meaningful pictures and I have to remind myself that the purpose of my blog is not to cause visual joy to anybody out there but to collect and save my memories. Crappy pictures for crappy memories. Haha.
  3. improve my photography. Because even if this place most likely will never evolve into a beautiful, artistic photo blog, I still want to learn how to make my indoor pictures less blurry.
  4. write more about music. I totally get that nobody likes my music posts but me, haha, but hey, it’s my blog where I do as I please. And I don’t want to completely forget the person I was before the depression. That nice and intelligent person that had opinions and knowledge and was talented and her life wasn’t centered around iv pumps and artificial hearts. Not that there is anything wrong with artificial hearts.

So let’s remember some of the nice and/or important things I did or that happened in 2013:

I started the year with fireworks in Salzburg.


Milo was born shortly after that.

Untitled 12

Spring was beautiful (when it wasn’t raining).

Untitled 28

I visited 30 cities in 6 different countries during the year (I don’t count Salzburg and Budapest where I actually live and not just visit). My favourite places were rainy Venice…

san giorgio 14

…and the beautiful synagogue of Třebíč.

trebic rear synagogue 8

 I also paid a visit to the Dachau Concentration Camp.

kz dachau

I hiked mountains…

Untersberg fog 8

… got wet by waterfalls…

gollinger wasserfall 10

…took boats to reach islands…

Untitled 19

…and cable cars to reach peaks.

Untersberg cable car

After a more than twenty years long hiatus I actually made two zoo visits this year. A trend I definitely want to continue.


I became an expert in mountain cemetery art…

Untitled 30

…and in carillon mechanics.

Untitled 25

I celebrated the opening of the Salzburger Festspiele…

Untitled 25

…documented folk festivals…

Untitled 153

…and politically critical art exhibitions.

ARC 24

I bought my first DSLR. Technically spoken, it’s an SLT, but honestly, for me the definition doesn’t make any difference. I am not entirely happy with it, maybe it’s the kit lens and its huge barrel distortion and poor focusing skills; but it’s nice to have control over my choices. Unfortunately, I don’t really have any control over anything yet, so a lot of blurry, over or underexposed, out of focus photos are to come till I learn how to handle it properly. Don’t be too hard on me if I post the sixty-fourth slightly washed-out picture of the same blurred flower or distorted building. I also try not to over-edit my photos in order to make them less painful but it’s hard, really hard.

I also let my hair cut, after wearing it long for about ten years. This decision didn’t make me more beautiful (I still haven’t found out what makes me more beautiful, haha) but man, does it feel good to have it short! On my Good Hair Days I look like Dora The Explorer. On my Bad Hair Days… Oh well. On my Bad Hair Days I look a lot like Pumuckl. I usually have Bad Hair Days (not that this makes any difference). (Also, you’re welcome for my precious self-portrait, displayed in the true manner of the Mysterious Blogger’s Awkward Bedroom Mirror Selfie. At least it isn’t a Common Restroom Mirror Selfie entitled “what I wore today”. And you really can’t claim that I’d overflow this blog with my own self-portraits).

Untitled 35

In 2013 I also quit my job (twice) and moved (twice). I see a certain pattern here, haha. I guess I’m addicted to this feeling of freedom that comes with quitting jobs.


I left Salzburg…

Untitled 1

…and moved back to Budapest for a while.

Untitled 25

I started a course to specialize in Critical Care Nursing and Anaesthesiology, mostly because I missed using my brain and was so bored with the job they call nursing in Austria. Hungarian Health Care System has its (major? giant? monumental?) flaws but at least it isn’t boring for all that take actively part in it. Stressful? Yes. Boring? No.


I also had some family time with relatives I haven’t seen in two years…

szalonnasütés 7

…and went a bit heavy on Christmas markets to overcompensate last year’s complete lack of festive feelings.

Vörösmarty tér

At the end of the year Móricka turned two. He celebrated with smashing his cake to the floor. Unintentionally, of course.

Untitled 9

So this was (the nicer part of) my 2013. Let’s move on, please?

5 Comments to “the year is going, let him go”

  1. Happy new year!! Looking forward to many posts from you in 2014 as well :-)

  2. Boldog Új Évet! Tetszenek a képeid és a múlt évi összefoglalód is nagyon jó. Olvastam az előző blogodat is, örülök, hogy hazaköltöztél, remélem, jól érzed majd magad. A zenét ne feledd ebben az évben sem, igazi csemegéket lehet Nálad találni.

    Üdvözöllek : egy régi olvasód

    • Szia!
      Örülök, hogy írtál! Na meg hogy valaki végre meghallgatja a zenéimet, haha :o/ Csak pár hónapot leszek itthon, szóval ez nem igazi hazaköltözés, de azért igyekszem kihasználni az időt.
      Boldog Új Évet neked is!

Leave a Reply

