February, month of despair

by ada

I’m getting worse and less inspired at photographing books with every month. At least I still read (some of) them, haha.

February readings 2014

6 Comments to “February, month of despair”

  1. You have reminded me that I read all (all?) the Maigret books years ago. It was strange. Each one left me feeling that I wasn’t sure I wanted to read another, and then I read another, and another.

    • Wow, all of them! That’s what I’m also aiming for :o) I totally lost track of which one I’ve already read so I sometimes catch myself re-reading the same book in a different language without noticing it until well into it, like this time. The same with Agatha Christie. I think Simenon somehow managed to create a world around Maigret that feels totally real and not the least false or imaginary. Maybe that’s why these stories are so disturbing but also addictive :o)

  2. Have you read Fateless by Imre Kertész? I realise that it is the only Hungarian book that I know (I think) and that The Roundup (Szegénylegények) is the only Hungarian film that I know. I like that film so much that I got it on DVD.

    • Yes, I did and I also watched the film made of it (unfortunately synchronised in German which made it a very strange experience). I only read one other book of him, Kaddish for a child not born. I haven’t seen Szegénylegények yet but heard of it, it’s really famous. Its director, Jancsó Miklós has just recently passed away.

      There are those “1000 books you must read” lists circulating out there and I remember having seen some Hungarian titles on them but the only one I’ve now found mentioned is Krasznahorkai who is definitely not the most famous Hungarian writer ever. We have some good literature and excellent poetry and I’ve seen a lot of them translated to English and German lately :o)

      • Yes, I can definitely see how it would be strange to see Fateless synchronised (dubbed?) in German – of all languages.

        Szegénylegények is quite special.

        What book by a Hungarian author would you recommend? Forget this question if it is a problem – I would probably hate to be asked it. Actually I would probably say JD Salinger ‘Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction’ and ‘Franny and Zooey.’

        • It depends on what kind of literature do you want. Most of our recently translated literature is contemporary and quite disturbing. If you are into history (told in contemporary style, haha), you can try Harmonia caelestis by Esterházy Péter, which is the story of his own family. If you want something funnier and lighter, read The Finno-Ugrian Vampire by Noémi Szécsi (I just read it and it has some really funny insider Hungarian jokes).
          It is definitely not easy to pick only one book :o)

          From Salinger I only read The catcher in the rye, and that at least 15 years ago, but I heard a lot about Franny and Zooey. I should read it one day.

Leave a Reply

