for the nights are short in June

by ada

For the very busy June I had, I consider four books as an extraordinary accomplishment. Let’s talk about them, because that’s something I’ve never done on this blog before.*

Ambrose Bierce: Lügengeschichten – a collection of short stories. I’ve read Bierce before but his seaman stories were new to me. I liked them.

William Paul Young: Die Hütte (The Shack) – Okaaay… So this book is the reason I’m actually writing this entry. It was recommended to me by a German female protestant prison pastor, five years ago***, in Taizé. I was armed prepared to like it. I wanted to like it. I really did. But I can’t help myself. I so hated this book I can’t even express my feelings about it properly. Because this book is just so. bad. Cheesy theology. Bad writing. Too much unnecessary emotions. Clichés with clichés all over the place. I mean, God as a big, good-natured black woman that sings religious songs? Jesus as a – surprise! – Jew with a – surprise!! – big nose? Is it just me or does this really hurt? Anyway. It is a bad, bad book and/or I’m a bad, bad person. I don’t want to talk about it anymore.

Arthur Schnitzler: Casanova hazatér (Casanova’s return to Venice) – I have a heart for everything (everybody) miserable, for broken things and for people who failed at life. Poor old Casanova, he was such a rat.

Pier Paolo Pasolini: Amado mio/Tisztátalan cselekedetek (Amado mio/Atti impuri) – The biggest part of this book I read while waiting at the dental emergency clinic, between 10 pm and 1 am. It definitely did not make those stressful hours of waiting for the inevitable pain any sweeter. Maybe I’m incorrectly influenced by the fact that I’ve never been a teenage boy with homoerotic feelings towards other, preteen boys, but I found the paedophilic aspects of this book deeply disturbing.

* I once had a literary blog to keep track of my readings (remember, those were times when I read 150 books a year. Now I’m proud if I get to 30). It had exactly two and a half followers and went down together with my Hungarian blog provider two years ago**

** never trust a Hungarian blog provider. Never trust anything Hungarian. Our biggest pride is still in our endless suffering about things that happened a thousand years ago

*** yes, that’s really the speed I’m accomplishing things with. I need five years to get to a book. You don’t want to know how late I’m with movies. Clue: I still haven’t seen Harry Potter 2 yet.

June readings

Leave a Reply

