hail, proud July

by ada

This is my 1000th post and it is just too appropriate for it to be about books. Or shall I say ironical? Because that’s what remained of my intellectual life: a monthly photo of (more or less) crappy books. But! I’m on my way to a change. It’s about time; depression took almost three years of my brain this time. It seems that every time it hits it takes me more time to recover than it previously did. Quite depressing, isn’t it? But let’s not talk depression, let’s talk travel!

Although I totally love playing with quotes (like, reading Victorian poetry for the purpose of finding fitting blog titles, haha), I hate “inspirational”  quotes on blogs (or, anywhere). The kind I hate the most are the motivational ones, usually from an “unknown” source*, that seem to rule tumblr nowadays, and that command people to do things, like “Get up early!** Watch the sun rising with a cup of tea in your hands! Take a walk! Enjoy your life! You only live once! Love yourself (kiddo)!”

So I decided to post an uninspirational quote to balance all the inspirational ones on the internet out. And because I’m so hip meta tumblr-worthy unoriginal that I read books on travelling while actually travelling, it’s a quote from the short story Big Trip to Europe by Jack Kerouac, from the collection Lonesome Traveler. It isn’t featured on the photo because I haven’t finished it yet.***

* I suspect these Unknown Sources to be the bloggers themselves, usually not a day older than twenty, that would like to pass as wise pioneers from the woods

** I never got behind the mystic of getting up early. If we believe the Unknown Sources, it helps you become a Better You. Unfortunately, while I get up fairly early almost every day (because I have to), all I noticed is that it makes me grumpy. And a Grumpy Me is definitely not a Better Me. I would sell my soul for a life without shift work where I can sleep as long as my circadian rhythm desires

*** spontaneous prose may be extremely quick and easy to write, but it’s also extremely exhausting to read

So after all the footnotes and stars let’s have the honest opinion on travelling of the greatest traveller of the twentieth century literature:

“Of course world travel isnt as good as it seems, it’s only after you’ve come back from all the heat and horror that you forget to get bugged and remember the weird scenes you saw.”

You’re welcome.

July readings 1

Leave a Reply

