As the dead year is clasped by a dead December

by ada

And the four* last books of 2014, all of which I enjoyed extremely. And, as we all know, that’s the only thing that matters.

In 2014 I read 53 books; 27 of them in Hungarian, 16 in German and 10 in English. The one I liked the best was Walter M. Miller Jr.’s Lobgesang auf Leibowitz (A Canticle for Leibowitz). The one that has filled me with rage against all things religion was Die Hütte (The Shack) by William Paul Young.

* plus the bonus book on the top of the pile, about baggers and stuff, courtesy of Milo

December readings

Unlike my whole life the past years, I have now an exact plan for 2015 regarding reading. These are the books I was keeping separate since years but somehow I’ve just never got to them. But now! I am determined to Read All The Things! Plus the additional mysteries and detective novels, haha.

2015 plans

3 Comments to “As the dead year is clasped by a dead December”

  1. Good luck with next year’s reading. Do share your views and recommendations on the books you read (particularly the ones in English, because my German is not good enough to read big books and my Hungarian is non-existent except for 3-4 words). Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year! I wish I’d read more in English! In 2014 I read two novels by Kerouac, two books from the Mma Ramotswe series by Alexander McCall Smith, Various Pets Alive & Dead by Marina Lewycka, Something Special by Iris Murdoch, a collection of stories by Borges, The Reader by Bernhard Schlink, an Ellery Queen mystery novel and the Cuckoo’s Calling. The Murdoch story did not touch me at all and the Kerouac books were very tiring to read, mostly because English is only my third language (and spontaneous prose sucks anyway, haha). All the others were fine. But all my opinions reflect my personal taste so feel free to ignore them :o)

Leave a Reply

