lens test (Sony Alpha DT 50mm F1.8 SAM)

by ada

Somewhere around the middle of April my kit lens gave up on its focusing skills. I was already contemplating buying a new one for a long time, I just couldn’t justify giving out money. Since making decisions isn’t my prime skill, it took me weeks to pick the new lens (out of the two that were available for Sony cameras in my price range, haha). I got the 50 mm f 1.8 lens because it was cheap I want to learn from scratch. Here are the first photos I took with it, along with some thoughts on my experiences (I’m now using it since one month).


  • it takes very nice photos under less than ideal light conditions (dusk, night, inside)
  • really good for portraits
  • it was really cheap – like 88 GBP on Amazon


  • the large aperture, that allows the low-light photos to be so nice makes the lens literally unsuitable for bright daylight use. I need some ND filters, asap
  • it is very tight – I should have known that, because it is a portrait lens. Unfortunately, for me a portrait lens is A Lens That Makes Nice Portraits – while, in reality, a portrait lens is A Lens That Is Unable To Cover Any Other Subject Than Portraits. I crept on dirty grounds like those cool wildlife photographers do while shadowing lions, and still could not get the tiny castle of Liechtenstein on the picture in whole. I don’t miss the zoom of the kit lens, but I do miss its width
  • it is not suitable for macro photos
  • I expected it to be sharper than it is
  • unrelated, but I really hate the way my Sony camera autocorrects color saturation. My fault – I should finally start to use modes other than intelligent automode

Anyway. I am slowly, very slowly, but actually learning some things about photography. All we need is just a little patience, haha.

Untitled 20

Untitled 66

Untitled 56

Untitled 60

Untitled 61

Untitled 65

Untitled 64

Untitled 34

Untitled 39

Untitled 72

Untitled 73

Untitled 36

Untitled 40

Untitled 41

Untitled 44

2 Comments to “lens test (Sony Alpha DT 50mm F1.8 SAM)”

  1. Wow, you’re so much more advanced than me, I just click. Then you will start making portraits of flowers, I hope they smile for you :)

    • I am everything but advanced :o( Every time I use manual settings only, I ruin all the photos. Actually, my major concern is that I can’t seem to be able to photograph flowers with this lens – it lets too much light in and this makes the colours too saturated and the lines undefined. I’m curious if the neutralising filter makes any difference – it ought to.

Leave a Reply

