May recap

by ada

Although I have extreme difficulties to recall anything that happened to me four months ago, because my life feels completely different now than it did in May, I still haven’t given up on getting back to blogging regularly. Hope is the thing with feathers, you know.

So, according to my memory card, in May I…

…took the elevator to the top of the Stephansdom to visit Austria’s biggest church bell, the Pummerin…

Untitled 83

…went to see the castle of Liechtenstein:

Untitled 43

…walked in the footsteps of Constanze Mozart in the Kurgarten of Baden (where she fled every time she didn’t want to perform her SAHM duties):

Baden 60

…celebrated the end of the war that killed six million people:

Fest der Freude 35

…visited Milo and Móricka:

MM 2

…had the first campfire of the season (which turned out to be an extraordinarily stressful family affair, but that’s what you get with two toddlers around a fire, I guess):

Untitled 70

…travelled back to Vienna…

Untitled 79

…to enjoy the sunshine…


…and to have fun:

Untitled 20

…had the first ice coffee of the year (with an ex-coworker, who came to visit me for a day from Linz):

Ice coffee 1

…admired sea animals:

Haus des Meeres 91

…gave a concert with the choir of the hospital:

concert 2

…spent a lot of time in good company museums:


…saw lots of fellow nurses lying on the pavement of the Mariahilfer  Straße in the hope of more money a better future…

Pflege am Boden 3

…which the next generation also seems to be genuinly interested in:

Pflege am Boden 7

…visited a lot of churches…

Untitled 38

…walked home in the Viennese dawn after playing the recorder at the Taizé prayer until 4.30 am:


…spent my last day working in this hospital (I have told you: I love to quit jobs):

bhbw 1

On the last evening of May, while biking through the Hofburg from my soon-to-be apartement to my old place, I finally became perfectly content with living in Vienna. Little did I know that if you happen to have run into the most unreliable real estate agent of the whole city, a single day is all it takes for everything to change. But it is another story, the story of my June, which I will share in the unforeseeable future soon.

2 Comments to “May recap”

  1. I wish for you that unreliable June has turned into something better for August and September and beyond.

Leave a Reply

