conversations with my coworkers – part 9

by ada

coworker: – Phew, it’s hot today! Are you gonna jump into your pool after work?

me: – Such a nice idea! Unfortunately I don’t have a pool, but good for you!

(five minutes later):

coworker: – Oh, it’s soooo hot today! You too should jump into your pool at home!

me: – Well, I actually do not have a pool at home.

(an hour later):

coworker: – I can’t bear with this heat anymore! I can’t wait to jump into the pool after work. You should totally do the same!

me: – I am a white trash immigrant. I grew up in poverty in Eastern Europe. I am now living in the house of horror the deepest hole of Austro-Balkan hell a service apartment of exactly 20 quadratmetres. I do NOT have a pool.

(at the end of our shift):

coworker: – And now we can finally go home and jump into the pool! Aren’t you happy to have a pool on a day like this? Go and jump into it as soon as you’re at home!

me:  – Yeah. That’s exactly what I’m gonna do.

(I spent my whole life, which is longer than I’d care to admit, in the belief that in order to take part in a conversation, it is necessary to listen to the others. Turns out I was completely wrong.)

Tags: , ,

2 Comments to “conversations with my coworkers – part 9”

  1. :( Can’t even click the like. At least you’re not in Wales (Nahhhhhhhhhhh, nothing personal in any Welsh reads this, but I’ve been following a bit world politics).

    • Yes, I guess I should be happy not being an immigrant in GB right now (my cousin is there though, so brexit hit close to home). I prefer not to be too invested in world politics, the main (=worst) news reach you anyway :o(

Leave a Reply

