July recap

by ada

The fact that I’m taking refugee at posting about my last summer shows quite clearly how unhappy I have been lately devoted I am to document life chronologically. So let’s recall, from a whole year’s distance, how I spent the glorious July of 2015.

After I quit my job at the cardiology and spent a month at home in Budapest, I finally figured out that the form of nursing that suits me best is travel nursing. I joined an agency and took on my first assignment in the farthest Austrian town possible, Bregenz. And so did the summer, that turned out to be my best summer since years if not decades, begin.

Bregenz 1

I did my best to explore the city…

Bregenz 2

…and promptly found Europe’s narrowest house.

world's thinnest house Bregenz 6

I also met the prettiest inhabitant of the city…

cica 4

… and was constantly reminded of deep truths.


I took cable cars to the top of mountains,

Untitled 150

…explored new cities…

Friedrichshafen coffee

…and went to the zoo.

Untitled 364

I crossed the German border…

Lindau 55

… and almost swam over to Switzerland (too bad I’m too old not cool enough for daytime nude swimming in public, haha) (note to self: put on your swimsuit even if you’re only out for groceries. You can never know how your day turns out. Better be prepared).

Alter Rhein Hohenems 52

To make up for missing the Swiss waters, I made a habit of swimming in Lake Constance…

Bodensee 5

…and made sure to visit Switzerland on an other occasion. Without getting my feet wet, this time.

Alte Rheinbruecke Vaduz Sevelen 25

I went to Liechtenstein…

Vaduz Castle 20

…where I met the long gone…

Liechtensteinisches Landesmuseum 85

… and the dead.

Liechtensteinisches Landesmuseum 81

I also got to admire tiny stone carvings inspired by Russian folk tales.

Ural Stone Carvings Liechtensteinisches Landesmuseum Vaduz 39

I visited an (even for me) unusual amount of museums…

Schulmuseum Friedrichshafen 26

…to see contemporary art…

Joan Mitchell Bregenz 66

…and stunning Alemannic fashion,

Schattenburg 12

…to learn about the beginning of hormone substitution therapy,

Progynon 25

…to practice my 17th century Yiddish (haha),

Juedisches Museum Hohenems 4

…and to play with funny clockwork toys.

Dornbirn inatura 88

So, yeah. I have nothing to complain about. July 2015 just turned out to be really, really great.

3 Responses to “July recap”

  1. I found this storytelling quite amusing, not just the bit about nude swimming. It might be a year old but I’d sorry to miss this month in your life in brief.

    • I wish this summer was half as entertaining as last year, but alas, it isn’t. It’s nice to remember that there were times when I had a life outside of the hospital, haha. I need to make some serious lifestyle changes and move back to Bregenz, I guess.


Leave a Reply

